How to create a super duper corny and cute anniversary present on a $20 budget

This past April I had the privilege of celebrating my second year anniversary with my great boyfriend who puts up with me all the time. I really wanted to get him something special, but tried to think of something that you couldn’t just buy on a shelf. It was about a week to the anniversary date, and I was just about to give up. I didn’t want to go on pinterest, because as fun as that is..I felt like it was cheating and wanted to take FULL credit for my creation. It wasn’t until I was walking through Target in the toys section (dont judge) when I spotted Monopoly, and FINALLY..the idea came to me! I would use the board as a way to display all of the significant places we’ve been.

ImageFirst,I needed to make sure I could actually do my plan, and I made a list of all the places we have been that has some significance to it…where we met, first kiss, favorite eating places..etc….and then I used that fancy google tool on that internet machine to find out the street names of where the places are.

Next, I bought some paints (any tempra paints work) I mixed a white and a green to make that ‘mint’ color on the monopoly board and painted over the words on the monopoly board. I matched the street names to the property cards, and wrote little sentences about what street name matched the place. The sizes of the squares can vary depending on the version of Monopoly you buy. If I had a chance, I would have used more time to plan this out, and spend longer on the property cards part. I didn’t realize that I didn’t have all the color paints to match the tops, so they didn’t turn out as good as I thought.

Finally, the fun part! I love giving presents 🙂 He was so surprised and it was so fun to take a little trip down memory lane and talk about the places we have gone and such. I was then one upped by his present, a pair of tennis shoes I have wanted for quite some time so I felt a little silly…but he really enjoyed it! I guess to one up this gift on our third anniversary I should start planning now!

Leave a Reply

